Iowa State Fair attendees are casting their kernel. Who will be the next Governor of Iowa? Cast Your Kernel is an unscientific poll. Click on a candidate to find out a little more about each one. Here are the results so far...

Posted: 8:52pm 8/20/2017

Results by Party
Candidate Breakdown
Kim Reynolds (R)
Kim Reynolds
Kim Reynolds is in her first term as Iowa's governor. She took over in 2017 when former Governor Terry Branstad resigned to become the U.S. Ambassador to China. Reynolds previously served as lt. governor, state senator and Clarke County treasurer. She lives in Osceola, along with the governor's mansion in Des Moines.
Nate Boulton (D)
Nate Boulton
Nate Boulton is in his first term as a state senator. He is also an attorney and adjunct professor at Simpson College. Boulton lives in Des Moines.
Fred Hubbell (D)
Fred Hubbell
Fred Hubbell is a retired business executive and philanthropist. He has also served on the Iowa Power Fund and as interim director of the Iowa Department of Economic Development. Hubbell lives in Des Moines.
Ron Corbett (R)
Ron Corbett
Ron Corbett is in his second term as mayor of Cedar Rapids. He previously served as speaker of the house, Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce president and insurance agent. Corbett resides in Cedar Rapids.
John Norris (D)
John Norris
John Norris is a partner at SPPG, a public policy firm. He is a former chief of staff, U.S. minister counselor for agriculture and member of the Iowa Utilities Board and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. He lives in Des Moines.
Jake Porter (L)
Jake Porter
Jake Porter is the former executive director of the Libertarian Party of Iowa. He also works as a business consultant. Porter lives in Council Bluffs.
Cathy Glasson (D)
Cathy Glasson
Cathy Glasson is a registered nurse. She is also the president of SEIU Local 199. Glasson lives in Iowa City.
Andy McGuire (D)
Andy McGuire
Andy McGuire is the former chair of the Iowa Democratic Party. She has also worked as a medical doctor and chief executive. McGuire lives in Des Moines.
Ross Wilburn (D)
Ross Wilburn
Ross Wilburn is associate program director and diversity officer at Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. He previously served as mayor of Iowa City. Wilburn lives in Ames.
Steven Ray (R)
Steven Ray
Steven Ray is in his second term on the Boone City Council and serves as mayor pro-tem. He previously worked as a Boone County 9-1-1 dispatcher and communications specialist for the Iowa Department of Public Safety. Ray lives in Boone.
Jon Neiderbach (D)
Jon Neiderbach
Jon Neiderbach is the former president of the Des Moines school board. He has also worked with the Legislative Fiscal Bureau and Iowa Department of Human Services. Neiderbach lives in Windsor Heights.